Venlafaxine Yes, Sleep No.

(image credit:http://orig02.deviantart.net/ff8d/f/2013/055/2/5/insomnia_by_nightwolf7272-d5w2i1p.png)

I am coming up on the 3 week mark of making the switch from Mirtazapine and Venlafaxine. The first couple of weeks were definitely odd, and I’m sort of wondering if the transition from one medicine to the other is what shocked my system enough to trigger this current flare I am in. It wasn’t something that I considered would happen when I made the transition but I suppose going forward I should be more aware that changes like that may trigger a flare.

The good points about this medicine is that I’m definitely noticing myself being calmer during situations that would normally send me into a panic. It’s not 100% yet but it has definitely made a positive impact on my anxiety. Even at nighttime when I would normally have my nocturnal panic attacks, now I just lay awake with my mind racing through the problems that it is trying to solve, without the ensuing panic attack that usually follows those times. It has been nice to experience this lessening of anxiety. I may request the next higher dose at my next visit as I think it will be more beneficial. With that said, I’m also wondering if I had gotten to the point where Mirtazapine was causing me anxiety vs treating it because I literally felt a change almost immediately after I stopped taking that medication. It was enough I plan on mentioning it when Dr. C and I have a chance to sit down and talk about this part of my care again.

Sleep Still eludes me, I have many nights where either I snap awake between 2-4 to solve the world’s problems, yep my brain thinks it is a superhero! So I spend the next couple hours trying to convince it that there is nothing we can do to solve the problems it is thinking through during the wee hours of the morning. Now that the panic is less, it is really like a silly argument going on in my head. Seriously if they weren’t so damned annoying they would be rather comical. I’m following Dr. C’s advice and only taking Ambien every 3rd night of sleeplessness. It has been a cycle of horrible sleep and patchy sleep even on the nights I take it. There has to be a better solution to my sleep issues. The night after I got my Phenergan and Toradol shots this week I slept amazingly well. Best sleep I have had in a long time. Too bad I can’t just take Phenergan for sleep! I fell asleep curled up in my favorite blue chair and woke up long enough to drag myself to bed and promptly fell back asleep. It was amazing. I know part of my sleep issues are pain and nausea related, especially during flares like this one.

Someday I will have peace, sleep, and happiness, and be relatively pain-free. Hey, I can atleast hope right?

Leave a Reply

