Daily Gratitudes Week 4

(Image Source: http://improvementlist.blogspot.com/2013/11/be-thankful-and-show-gratitude.html)

I can’t believe another week has gone by already! It has been a busy week and I’ve had a lot of exciting things happen this week. I’m hoping to have time this weekend to make a couple of blog posts about a couple of things that are mentioned in this post. I saw my Rheumatologist on Monday and it was a great appointment. The biggest news from this week is that I started a certification program to become a Reflexologist! I should be finished and able to accept clients by summer. Here’s my week of gratitude posts: 

January 22- January 28, 2015

1-22: Funny movies before heading to Concord. Sharing future plans with people who are excited for me. Making steps towards obtaining a goal. Well meaning people, even if they leave me scratching my head sometimes. Zazzle snuggles. Precision in language. That my good friend became a brand new RN as of this week AND she gets to start her new amazing job earlier than planned! It is amazing when good things happen to those that deserve it.  

1-23: Fuzzy boots and the warmth they provide. Hot coffee on a cold morning. The exchange of ideas in a positive environment. Spotify. Mexican Food. Hot Coffee on a cold rainy evening. Hanging out with my two favorite guys. Laughter. Warm PJs. That bedtime is nearing, because cold rainy days zap my energy and are painful, plus I didn’t sleep all that well last night. 

1-24: Being able to move, even if it were at a slower pace this morning. Tramadol. Moving forward with plans. Sharing news with supportive folks in my life. How fluffy the clouds looked this afternoon, truly beautiful. Catching up with a friend via phone. Moments of personal realizations, chances to learn from them, and the ability to process that information. 

1-25: Milder weather, beautiful afternoons. Relaxing evenings. Early bedtime (though tomorrow is going to be a long day, with an early am Rheumatology appointment) to start the day off. Not feeling as stressed about this appointment as I have the last few appointments with Dr. L. Figuring ways to occupy the brain space has led to less anxiety. I’m glad I’m at a place where this is an option, unlike before when I couldn’t overpower the thoughts. Acknowledgment that this is for the moment a comfortable place to be, even if there are still some rough emotions being dealt with. 

1-26: A positive Rheumatology appointment. Feeling more confidence in my healthcare team and enjoying the freedom that provides. Entertaining comments about looking younger than I am, nurse thought I was 18. Call me amused. That silence often speaks louder than words, and says more than the spoken word ever will.

1-27: Supportive advice. New beginnings, paths, and the chance to learn something new. That today had a later start to it than yesterday. I’m not so sure I can do early mornings every day, this is not news though, I’ve never been a morning person. Good thing I’m around people who are accepting and understanding of this knowledge.Vanilla latte with an extra shot of espresso helped jump-start me today. Earlier bedtime tonight hopefully. 

1-28: Hot coffee. Feta Cheese is amazing with shrimp. I have officially started my Reflexology studies. My instructor is the founder of the school, and the conference call with her was awesome. I was pleasantly surprised at how much information I had retained from when I was first introduced to Reflexology several years ago. Having things to share that do not seem mundane and boring. The ability to say, no I can do that tomorrow. Spending the evening with my hubby. Relaxing evenings cuddled on the couch. 

4 weeks into my gratitude posts projects has shown me a way to rethink through things. I have an alarm set on my phone for 8:30pm every day that reminds me to take a few moments to pause and think about the day. For those few moments, even if I’m having a bad day I think about it with only gratitude. As I think back over the day, I slowly start to see that even in the negative, adverse moments in life, there is usually something I can be appreciative of. That is one of the tools I first learned in therapy, reframing thoughts, and learning how to think differently to get around unhealthy thought processes.  (Previous Daily Gratitude Week 3Week 2, Week 1)

What do you have to be thankful for this week?

2 thoughts on “Daily Gratitudes Week 4

  1. Hi my friend. I hope you are doing well, and its all working out for you at the end of the day. Great post for being thankful of something.
    I am very inspired by your post, and will try to post something I am thankful for this week. I hope I can quote you, as the inspiration of my next post. Please take care and enjoy every moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

