Goals for 2015

(Image Credit: http://www.klaz.com/2014/12/22/happy-holidays/)

 

I hope everyone enjoyed ringing in the New Year. I saw the New Year in cuddled up cozy in my bed next to my husband and our cat! Yes, I am not big on staying up past my bed time just to see midnight and the New Year roll in. I woke around 8 this morning and wandered to the living room to wish my household a Happy New Year! Today we will eat a traditional meal. This is how we celebrate the beginning of a new year. Our meal will consist  of Glazed Ham, Black Eyed Peas, and Cabbage. Gasp! Cabbage! The house is starting to smell good with aromas of the ham, fresh baked cornbread, and peas already, as I sit here and type this. All I have left to do is start the cabbage. I’ll make sure I only have a little of it to eat so I do not crash my INR since it is on the list of vegetable that have the highest Vitamin K amounts. All things in moderation! Does your family have a traditional New Year meal that you eat?

Over the last few weeks I have also considered several goals and resolutions for the coming year. I have come up with a few for myself and I will share them with you. A few of them are specific to Triumphant Wings so I will list them first.

 

Triumphant Wings:

1- Post more regularly and about more than just the medical side of my life.

2-Share my experience with 100 Days of happiness or 365 (or what I decide upon). 

3-Do a weekly round-up/summary of Gratitude posts I will be starting to do again on my personal Facebook Page.

4-Do at least a couple of blogging events, classes, or challenges this year. 

5-Interact more with my blogging community, readers, and the blogs that I read.

 

Social Media in General:

1-Begin my Daily Gratitudes Posts again on facebook. When I first got sick I was so overwhelmed that unfortunately these fell to the wayside. I’m at a point to begin incorporating them again.

2- Do something like the 100 Days of Happiness Project again (and finish it) or the 365 day Project.

3- Continue to be an advocate for APS and Lupus and share my story and knowledge that I am learning through my own personal experience with these conditions. I also feel by talking openly about my struggles that it is a step toward normalizing chronic illness. So many people who are facing life with Lupus and other chronic illnesses are made to feel like they have to do it alone or at least in silence. I’m strong enough not to do this in silence. I’m not ashamed of my conditions and I am strong enough to spread awareness while living life. Please don’t confuse this with allowing my conditions to define me. They do not. It is just something I feel very passionate about, therefore I talk a lot about them. That is what happens when you are active in advocacy about something.

4-Remain active in support groups and find ways to be supportive of others.

5- Stay in touch and strengthen relationships with those that I talk with on a regular basis. I spend a good deal of time on Facebook talking with friends, new and old, I might as well use that time to make sure I am staying in contact with the important people in my life.

Life in the Real World *Gasps*:

1- Healthier eating choices. At my Physical last year my Cholesterol was slightly elevated. Not high enough to be placed on medication, but high enough that it was mentioned to me. I am determined to get this under control without needing medication.  Plus my family has a history of Diabetes, heart disease, and a few other issues. Given that I have the AI conditions I already battle I feel it pertinent to go start making better decisions concerning my diet. This will also help me met one of my other goals for the year.

2- Lose weight. My ultimate goal is to lose around 40 lbs. If that happens in 1 year, great. If it takes longer, that is fine too. As long as I see progress I will consider it a successful year. I am going to do this by approaching it with healthy choices, changes to my activity level. With the medications I am on I know it may take me longer than it has in the past when I have tried to lose weight. With that said, I also know once I get my mind-set to do something, I will be fine, and it is set. This will happen. (I will probably be documenting this through my blog)

3- More cooking at home. I am an excellent home chef. I take a lot of pride in the meals I fix my family and it saddens me greatly when I had to take a seat during illnesses and especially during flares. It is my goal now that I am on treatments that have me feeling better to start eating more home-cooked meals. This is one of the best ways I can take care of my family, control what is in our foods, and make healthier choices. 

4-Find a way to Volunteer or give back to the community. I have a few ideas on what I would like to do, I’ll share the one/s that come to fruit! 

5-Participate in my  area’s  Lupus Walk in May. I am hoping to get a team together. Everything is more fun with a group of friends right? 

 

So there we go. 15 of my goals for 2015. What are some of yours for 2015?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Goals for 2015

Leave a Reply

