Good News from the 6th Floor Office

Last Monday, October 20th,  I had my October Follow-Up with my Rheumatologist, Dr. L. It was a late morning appointment. I recalled vividly the checkout lady cheerfully telling me that it was ‘the best time’ to have an appointment at their office. I have to say I disagree with that sentiment. Getting into the parking deck was anxiety inducing. The two cars in front of us, seemed to be lost and just stopped, dead in their tracks causing a back up at the entrance. Have I mentioned I’m not a fan of parking decks/garages to begin with? Yea, I’m not. We managed to get around them and went a different direction from the lost ones to find a parking space. Then we headed to the first elevator. Down to the first floor lobby of the medical plaza, that is also connected to a large hospital, we made our way. Then across the lobby and to the second set of elevators so  we could go up to the sixth floor waiting room.

I was excited and rather anxious. It takes me a while to get use to a new doctor and get comfortable. Dr. L also is sort of the one that calls the shots as far as my treatments and such goes. He is also the one that runs the bigger, more in-depth, and as you can probably guess scarier tests at this point. Granted most of the time they come back as we expect them to and there are fewer surprises at this point than there were a few months ago, but still Rheumatology appointments are a bit stressful still. Not to mention there is the whole mess of having my joints squeezed and pressed on, which sometimes is quiet painful and uncomfortable.

A different nurse processed me this time. She seemed new and I hadn’t seen her before on any of my prior visits. While going over my medications she struggled pronouncing the two medications Dr. L prescribed to me AzaTHIOprine (Imuran) and Hydroxychloroquine (Plaquenil). I feel if you are going to be a nurse at a Rheumatologist’s office, you should quickly learn the medications you are going to be encountering. Those two are fairly common and I know Dr. L prescribes them frequently, as he told me they are two that he relies on a lot. Other than that minor detail, I liked her a lot. She was personable, considerate, and listened to what I said. She also made notes of everything I said and not just parts of what I had to say for Dr. L. After she was finished with her part of the appointment she stepped out.

After a short wait Dr. L came in and we went over how the last 3 months had been. He asked if I had gotten my flu shot yet, and I told him yes and provided him with the date. We talked about my last flare, triggers, and what I was doing to keep my symptoms at bay. He was pleased to hear that things were improving and we both agreed that there wasn’t a need to add any new medications or to increase the dosage of either medication. Which with Imuran, we really can’t because of how I tested as a metabolizer of it back before we started me on that medication. I’m pretty much at my high dose already. It was a short appointment and he sent me to the lab for some routine tests to make sure my body was tolerating Imuran properly still.

Before going I asked him about Antiphospholipid Antibodies and their significance. The first time I tested positive for APS I tested positive for Anticardiolipin Antibodies, the second test  I tested negative for Anticardiolipin antibodies but positive for antibodies against Beta 2 Glycoprotein. I wanted to know if that meant my clotting risk was lower, which was what my Hematologist has indicated. Dr. L told me that wasn’t the case, that B2Gl was a subset of Anticardiolipin and both were antibodies against phospholipids which put me at an increased risk for blood clots. I relayed that information to Dr. C, my PCP the next day at my routine INR check.

Thursday I received an email from Dr. L and it was one of the best emails I have received in a while. Not only is my body tolerating Imuran perfectly fine, my kidney function has returned to normal! For the first time in over a year my kidneys are functioning 100% normal! Thank goodness! I can only assume that the combination of Plaquenil and Imuran are doing the trick at keeping my immune system from attacking them or whatever was going on that had my creatinine elevated for several months.

I see Dr. L again in January, a few days after my 31st birthday. I’ll have a new list of questions for him by then I’m sure. For now though I’m just really happy with where things are with my treatment.

One thought on “Good News from the 6th Floor Office

Leave a Reply

