Butter Pie Crust

I’m very picky when it comes to Pie Crusts. It took me years to find a recipe to use as a base recipe for my crusts. This is the recipe I go to time and again. With a few alterations it can be used for both sweet pies, and savory Pies.

IMG_9320

Basic Pie Crust (9in Pie Crust)

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, stick in freezer 15-30minutes and diced
1/4 cup ice water

Directions:

(I make mine in my food Processor)

1.Combine flour and salt. Pulse until well mixed
2. Start adding butter a little at a time. Pulse a few times between additions. Flour mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
3.Add water, a tablespoon at a time, until mixture forms a ball. (Usually only takes a couple of tablespoons) I do this with the Processor set to stay on.
4. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill in refrigerator at least 1 hour.
5. Roll out to fit 9 in Pie Pan.

6. Shape edges to your liking.

This recipe makes for an amazingly light and flakey crust. I’m rather picky about crusts and it’s the only one I’ve found that I actually like.

***You can add spices and herbs to make it a savory crust, or you can add sugar, apple pie or pumpkin pie spices,  and vanilla bean or small amounts of extract to make it suitable for desserts.

 

One thought on “Butter Pie Crust

Leave a Reply

