Moments In Time From 6/29-7/19

I WANT TO SHARE IMAGES I HAVE CAPTURED OVER THE LAST WEEK AND POSTED TO MY INSTAGRAM THAT HIGHLIGHT MOMENTS IN MY LIFE. THERE IS ALSO A SNAZZY WIDGET ON MY SIDEBAR OF MY INSTAGRAM IF YOU ARE VIEWING MY BLOG FROM MY ACTUAL SITE. YOU DON’T GET TO SEE THAT IF YOU ARE VIEWING IT IN READER. SO ONCE A WEEK I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE FUN TO DO A POST AND SHARE A FEW IMAGES THAT I THOUGHT WERE WORTH POINTING OUT FROM MY WEEK. I WILL TRY TO DO THIS EACH SUNDAY. I HOPE YOU ENJOY!

(This edition covers 3 weeks)

6/29

Meatloaf, I love making meatloaf, and this one turned out exceptionally well. I like playing around the ingredients and the glazes I make for them and this one was delicious!

6/30

The Pineapple I started trying to root had strong roots showing when I checked it on this date.

Look at all those Figs!! I can not wait until they are ripe!

Loaded with figs!!! Can't wait! #figs #gardening #fruit #trees

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

7/1

A day wandering around parks with my Doug! I even wore my sunscreen AND my floppy hat!

Stopped to watch the creek for a few before finishing our walk. I spent a lot of time at the edge of this creek right after my miscarriage. I still feel a strong connection to this area. I probably always will.

Stopped to watch the creek for a few before finishing our walk.

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

7/2

Yet another shot of Zazzle holding me hostage on the couch. 🙂

She does not seem to understand that I need to finish laundry. #cats #catsofinstagram #instacat

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

7/3

Learned a new way to tie my scarves!!! Now I can wear them as super cute tops over my tanks!

7/4

Rose of Sharon blooms.It amazes me how long this shrub stays in bloom compared to the other shrubs we have. Absolutely beautiful and long-lasting!

Rose of Sharon blooms. #roseofsharon #shrubs #blooms #gardening #flowers #july #summer

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

Enjoyed our little neighborhood 4th of the July parade. Local Police and Fire dept. led the way.

7/5

We made Bleach Gel that morning for cleaning purposes.

Time to add bleach. #bleach #bleachgel #diy #homemade #frugal #budgetsaving

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

It did a pretty amazing job at cleaning the grout on my center counter in the kitchen!

7/6

Bumblebee on a Rose of Sharon bloom.

Bumblebee on a Rose of Sharon bloom. #bees #bumblebee #roseofsharon #flowers #blooms #summer

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

Lupus aware fungi! Okay at least they were a pretty shade of purple.

Purple fungi! #fungi #mushrooms #purple #nature

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

7/7

Here’s what the inside of those amazing cupcakes that I posted pictures of in my previous post, Enjoyed Some Time Away, look like!

?modal=true

7/8

Doug and I applied an Owl graphic to our side door. What a Hoot!

7/9

I spent some time outside reading, listening to music and watching the birds on my feeders while drinking some tea out of my owl mug. Noticing a trend here? Yep I love owls!

7/10

I started a fresh batch of Kombucha brewing. For those of you who have known me since before I got ‘sick’ you know how big of a deal this is!!! When I it sick I had to stop consuming the booch while we sorted out my diagnoses and my medications. Last month I got the go ahead to add it back to my diet, slowly, once my flare passed!! I figure by the time this batch is ready I should be good to go! I’ve kept my scobies going over the last year by feeding them and switching out the tea from time to time. Now I can go back to actually making Kombucha to drink again!

So this duck approached our car when we got to the park. After walking around the entire car out feathered friend decided to sit down beside us for a while.

7/11

Friday evening out with the guys. Had a good dinner at Hawthorne’s Pizza and then walked across to Rocky River Coffee to enjoy evening beverages outside while the sun sets. Perfect!

7/12

Color Festival Charlotte 2014. It was a pretty awesome experience. Color everywhere!

7/15

Misha loves her tennis ball. She was just chillin’ on the back deck with it, and I got this rather smug shot of her. She looks like she’s smoking a cigar instead of holding a ball!

Dinner is served! One pot pasta, and fresh-baked herbed focaccia bread.

7/16

My sourdough starter is super happy. I reactivated some I had in the freezer yesterday and fed it again this morning. I’ll be moving it to a bigger jar when I feed it the next time!

Homemade sun-dried tomato, corn & caramelized onion quiche. Made the crust from scratch as well! YUM!

Slice of the quiche for dinner. #quiche #dinner #cooking #yum

A post shared by dotnik (@dotnik) on

7/17

This little guy eating lettuce brought a smile to my face today while we were walking around Petco.

7/18

Out with friends on a Friday night. This is my friend Penny. Always happy when we get to see each other!

7/19

I made two loaves of sourdough and had enough starter left to keep it going for the next round of baking. Feels good to be getting back to my old hobbies and self.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Moments In Time From 6/29-7/19

  1. You are a busy lady that’s a good sign. I saw that vedio on FB how to make vest with scarves. I think that’s cool. I have 1 pineapple plant that’s 2 years old and 1 that’s a year old they are strong, the older is big, both very healthy. I wonder if a pineapple will pop out of them. I know they won’t my grandmother had a really big one when I was a kid. How do you reach those bird feeders?

    Like

    1. I know I’m in the wrong climate to grow fruit bearing pineapple trees and avocados but I still think it would be neat to have the plants and say hey I started those from fruits I bought at the store!
      As for my feeders they aren’t as high up as the picture makes them look. I was sitting at the table the coffee mug was sitting on when I snapped the shot. When I’m standing they are easily reached. 🙂

      Like

  2. Who’s the gorgeous girl in the hat? You look great, Nicole. And you’re one great cook too. That quiche makes my mouth water. Good to see you are busy doing the things you love with the people you love. 😊

    Like

    1. Aww thank you for the compliment! 🙂 I’m still trying to get use to wearing hats. I have two in my collection now that I think look decent on me. As for the cooking I’m passionate about it and I can put my all on it and forget about everything else briefly. It’s one of the first things I learned when I moved in with my hubby, how to cook good food. 🙂 I’ll post the recipe for the quiche soon too. It’s totally worth the work. So tasty.

      Like

  3. Looking forward to the quiche recipe. My Mum taught me a lot about cooking. She showed me how to make great soup using chicken frames and necks and bacon bones. It’s soup weather here at the moment! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

