Liebster Award

Featured Image

 

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by Louise Leger!! Check out her blog! Thank you so much for this honor!

The Liebster Award is awarded to bloggers with under 200 followers to try to promote their blog a little and also bring together a community of bloggers. The rules of the competition are as follows:

  • The nominated user must provide a link back to the person who nominated them.
  • Provide 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
  • Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.

Here we go:

11 Facts about me

  1. I am currently mildly obsessed with scarves. Seriously I have to talk myself out of buying them every time I go to a store that sells them. I have a problem.
  2. I have a seahorse tattoo in memory of our baby that we lost May 29 2013. The entire 10 weeks I was pregnant I dreamed of seahorses. I thought it was an appropriate way to remember our little one. Here’s a picture:
  3. 491I own a hedgehog. (there are pics of him on my about me page)
  4. I have been with my husband for 10 years.
  5. When I first met my husband I didn’t know how to cook. Luckily he was able to teach me the basics and then I taught myself much more. I now consider myself a well-rounded home ‘chef’.
  6. I suffer from severe anxiety due to the recent changes in my health, and I’m not ashamed of it, I talk openly about my health issues and the anxiety it has caused me.
  7. When I was a child I got attacked by a bat, I’m telling you this because there’s a news story on right now about bats.
  8. I call my chevy blazer Gracie.
  9. I am the child of an alcoholic father who was absent during my childhood and came back in my life only briefly before exiting via suicide. There’s more to that story, he was terminally ill, and combined medication and alcohol and died, he did this knowing it would lead to death. Ironically I am now on one of the medications he was on that he combined with alcohol to treat one of my autoimmune conditions. Moral of this story, Alcohol and Warfarin DO NOT MIX. 
  10. I want to acquire 40 acres in the country, have a little farm, garden, and my close loved ones living there. Communal living, yes please. No I’m not wanting to start a cult. Though I am fairly persuasive. 😉
  11. Prior to all my medical issues starting, I was lil Mrs. Holistic. This whole being heavily medicated and seeing a whole bunch of doctors…. is sort of like a form of culture shock to me.

Questions for me

1. What attracted you to WordPress?

I was attracted to WordPress because of the community of bloggers, the ease of customization of blogs, and themes. I also have several friends that use WP as their blogging platform and they all gave good reviews so when I was ready to find a home for Triumphant Wings I looked at WP first and was sold!

2. What is your favorite topic to write about?

I like writing about real life. The words come easy and it’s a way to connect and share experiences. My blog centers around my journey with Lupus and Antiphospholipid Syndrome, two chronic illnesses. Eventually it will represent a more how I am overcoming and continuing to live positively and making a difference in other people’s lives despite the limitations these two conditions have placed upon me. Right now my journey is new, I’m just starting my treatments, and I’m seeing my doctors a lot. So that is what I talk about a lot on my blog, and in real life. It’s what life is for me right now. It is my story, and that makes it mine to share.

3.If you could change just one thing about the world, what would it be?

I bet you are expecting me to say that I would wish for the world to be void of chronic illness. That would be lovely, but that might be asking too much. What I do wish though, is that people would be more understanding of those with chronic illnesses. Especially of those newly diagnosed. It is an extremely odd transition to go from being a healthy person to all of a sudden a ‘sick’ person. Compassion and understanding would go a long way.

4.If you could change just one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I would have followed through with my Psychology degree. I know just enough to know what’s wrong with me right now, but not enough to know how to fix it. Therefore I’m frustrated that I can’t handle this transition on my own and having to go see someone for help. That’s a silly thing to be frustrated over, but it is an emotion I am experiencing and therefore I should process it.

5.What’s another hobby you have besides blogging?

I have several hobbies I enjoy! One of my favorite hobbies is gardening. Most years I do a sizeable veggie garden in the back yard, a herb garden, and I have a few planters of flowers scattered through our property. Oh and my Fig Tree! Yum! This year I didn’t get my veggie garden planted, I may do a few planters of veggies, and my herb bed is self-sustaining at this point so it’s good except it needs weeded.

6.Favorite colour and why?

This is a little tricky when I was a kid my favorite color was green. This changed when I was around 17. For some reason I fell in love with the color Purple around then. Everything I wanted was purple, clothes, ink pens, jewelry, everything. I have no clue why. My favorite color still remains Purple, and I also love Teal. (Notice these are the colors in my seahorse tattoo)

7.What was/is your favorite subject in school and why?

AFJROTC! Serious because of my years in JROTC I experienced this I would’ve never experienced otherwise. Sure the uniforms were not that attractive on females. I have so many fond memories from JROTC. I was heavily involved, it was more than a class, we were a team. I’m still friends with a good number of the folks I met through the classes and events.

8.Least favorite subject in school and why?

I was a nerd in school. One of those super smart kids. I was not fond of math though. It was just boring to me.

9. If you could travel anywhere in the world (that you haven’t been too) where would it be?

Australia! This the one place that is at the top of my places to visit list! I have been mildly obsessed with Aussies since my days as a girl scout, I had a camp counselor that was from Australia and I was in love with her accent.

10. What is your dream job (if you had no limits)?

Famous writer, and Psychologist.

11. Do you have/want kids? How many?

I want nothing more than to be a mom, but with my conditions I do not know if this is in the cards for me. Yes I know adoption or surrogate mothers are options. It’s not the same and I know that sounds selfish, but it is not the same. If it were a perfect world I’d have 1-2 kiddos.

 

11 Questions for My Nominees:

  1. What is your simple pleasure in life? That one things that puts a smile on your face.
  2. If you could talk to one dead person who would it be? Why?
  3. What is one thing you have lost that you wish you had back?
  4. If you were in your dream home, describe how the view from your back window would differ from your current view.
  5. Do you share your blog with family/friends in real life?
  6. Do you have any annoying habits?
  7. What habit do you find the most annoying in other people?
  8. What is one life event you never saw coming?
  9. At what age did you truly grow up? If you haven’t yet, what age do you think you will grow up?
  10. If you could go back and tell your younger self one thing, what would it be and why?
  11. Tell us about something that made an impact on your life.

11 Nominees:

  1. soy survivalist
  2. life lessons from somebody else
  3. Labeled Disabled
  4. Owls + Oaks
  5. Fun With Depression
  6. Windy Wonderings
  7. An Autumn Garage
  8. Don’t Forget to Breathe
  9. Cater it forward
  10. Maria Brinkley
  11. Because I Can

 

 

12 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I finally finished the Liebster Award process!! It is kind of fun! I had to nominate you back, I really like your blog. PS. Love the Seahorse!!!:)

    Like

  2. Thank you for the Liebster Award nomination! I’m going to try to get my post ready within the next couple of days!

    We have something in common as well. I have had 6 miscarriages, and I dreamed of peacocks during my first pregnancy. After dreaming of the peacocks, they appeared in real life, just like in my dream! I try to go back to that place every year to see them, and I see to see peacock motifs everywhere I go.

    Like

    1. Alanna, Thank you for sharing this! It’s special moments like that that let’s us know they are still with us. I am sorry for your losses. I look forward to reading your responses and you are most welcome for the nomination, it is well deserved. I love your blog.

      Like

  3. You are obsessed with scarves!!! So super thrilled as I am also, and so many people like scarves but obsession is something else!! I hope you have a purple one for Lupus Month! Wow, another awesome thing about you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

