Happy Birthday Dad!

Dad and I

Happy Birthday Dad, I love you. I wish I could say it in person. I wish I could talk to you on the phone right now, or come see you, hug you, just sit and talk to you. I’ve stared at this picture a lot lately. It’s one of the few things I have left of you. It’s one of the few pictures of us I have. I still have a box of your things in my attic, including one of your old shirts, that still smells like the sawmill, alcohol and your cigarettes. Every time I look at this picture, I see it a little more each time. I wish I had of known it then, I wish you would’ve told me. I wish you hadn’t of lied to me, but you did. I’m thankful we had those few months to bond before you went away for good. I’m thankful we took that walk that day. It was hot, humid, and the cicadas were singing like crazy. I will cherish that memory for the rest of my life. It’s one of the few happy memories I have of us together. I thought I was gaining a father, getting a chance to have the relationship with you that I had wanted my entire life. I thought it was the beginning, I didn’t know it was the end, and that you were saying goodbye.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dad!

Leave a Reply

